Home Forum Wiki The Rules Newbie Guide Roleplay Guide Plot & Setting Wanted Characters Aedolis Teinar Edanith Libra Cancer Thanatos Inc. Contact Us Copyright Affiliates Advertise Us Advertise You Donate! Playing a Leader

Author Topic: Manteca Interviews [open, mature]  (Read 914 times)

Anonymous

Manteca Interviews [open, mature]
« on: December 04, 2009, 09:24:43 pm »
Manteca Interviews

(OOC: This is my first attempt at writing on RotE. My character is ignorant of the world, as am I. Please forgive any small slip-ups in the text as these are only a reflection of my newness on a board with a complex world and background. I welcome any other RPers to the story who are willing to contribute to my education ^_^)

[sound of static]

"So you're saying that the engines aren't even running, right now? We're just floating haphazardly through space with no control over our course whatsoever?"
"Yep. Well, no. Sort of. See, the course adjustment was made back when the engines were fired. When we get closer to the station the computer will correct the ship's course for accuracy and fire the engine again. Isaac Newton keeps us going in between."
"Isaac who?"
"Newton. Don't you know your history, boy? He was a physics dude, from way-back-when. On Earth. Invented the law of motion. Or something."
"I see. But wouldn't it be faster to keep the engines firing continuously? Add more thrust to increase our speed?"
"Faster? Sure, it'd be faster. But a lot more complicated. See, the computer makes a calculation every time it fires the engine to adjust the course of the ship. If it fired the engine the entire way, it would have to make continuous course corrections."
"So... it takes six weeks to get to space station Cancer because the ship's computer can't do calculus?"